Home » Awards » IISc scientist Prof. U Ramamurty wins The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) award

IISc scientist Prof. U Ramamurty wins The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) award

Recent Posts

6000+ Academic followers…

6000+ Academic followers...

Click here to connect / follow ...


Enter your email address to follow this web portal and receive notifications of new posts by email / unsubscribe at anytime...We don’t do spam

Click here to go back to Homepage

Portal Stats

  • 720,252 hits

Live Traffic

Flag Counter


HT Correspondent |  Hindustan Times | Bengaluru | December 09, 2015 |

U Ramamurty, a professor at Bengaluru’s Indian Institute of Science (IISc), has won the $15,000 The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) award in the engineering category. “I left the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and came to India because I knew there is potential here. There must be more encouragement and funding. More Indians getting these kinds of awards will make our future generations confident of carrying out research here,” Ramamurty was quoted as saying by the Time of India. The scientist said there are lots of opportunities for science in India and there needs to be more encouragement for those pursuing excellence. He also stressed on the need to increase research funding in the country. The other Indians who received the award this year are Jagdish Ladha of the International Rice Research Institute, New Delhi, in the agricultural sciences category and Sandip Trivedi of the Tata Institute for Fundamental Research, Mumbai, in the physics category.

TWAS prizes or the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize are given out in nine categories of agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences, social sciences and physics every year. The prizes are given to those scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least 10 years immediately prior to their nomination. The winners will talk about their research at TWAS’s 27th general meeting in 2016 and will also receive a plaque and the prize money of $15,000. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization or Unesco looks after the administration and financial operation of TWAS. –  Courtesy  /    Read More…Prof. Ramamurthy, IISc   /      TWAS 2015 Prizes | TWAS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


Engineering, Science & Technology Resources Portal... Where Teaching and Learning in a Networked World…