Home » NAAC Accreditation » NAAC new ranking system from July 1

NAAC new ranking system from July 1

Recent Posts

6000+ Academic followers…

6000+ Academic followers...

Click here to connect / follow ...


Enter your email address to follow this web portal and receive notifications of new posts by email / unsubscribe at anytime...We don’t do spam

Click here to go back to Homepage

Portal Stats

  • 693,258 hits

Live Traffic

Flag Counter


The Hindu | Staff Reporter |

Starting this July, educational institutions across the country will be assessed for accreditation on a different ranking system by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). Institutions, which are currently clumped together as part of the four-point ranking system of the NAAC, in spite of having varying Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) scores, will have reason to cheer as the Bengaluru headquartered NAAC is introducing a new 7 point system.  CGPA scores and the rating given to colleges and universities by the NAAC help the higher educational institutions get funding from the UGC. In the current 4 point system, it was found that two institutions with a CGPA of 3.1 and 3.5 were ranked in the same category. From July 1, however, the new system, which ranks institutions with CGPA scores ranging between 1.51 and 4.00 in seven scales, will be implemented. For those institutions which have CGPA scores of 1.50 or less, there will be no accreditation by the NAAC.

“Earlier, there was a 9 point system which was then revamped to a 4 point system. However, it was noticed that several institutions with varying scores were being clumped together and so the new system is being introduced,” a senior NAAC official said. The new system will also assign a letter grade instead of the earlier descriptions of the institutions performance like Very Good, Good, Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory. In place of these descriptors, a letter grade (A++, A+, A, B++ etc) will be assigned. “To reflect the institutions performance levels more distinctively as recommended and approved by the Executive Committee of NAAC, the grading system has now been changed to a seven point system,” said D.P. Singh, NAAC Director. Institutions for which visits will take place from July 1 will be graded as per the new system while those already accredited in the earlier system will continue with the same status till the validity of their assessment period, a statement from NAAC said.

Professor B Thimmegowda, Vice Chancellor BU,

“This is my personal opinion but I would have preferred a five point system as it would be better to have a single plus (A+) instead of the double plus (A++) that they have introduced. They may have their own reasons for it but this is what I think. Earlier there was another system which was scaled down and then it has increased again” –  Courtesy

NAAC NOTICE : Revised grading system w.e.f 1st July, 2016 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Engineering, Science & Technology Resources Portal... Where Teaching and Learning in a Networked World…